Constructive and Bad Reviews

I’ve always shared the really great reviews on Star Bright because they always felt like a pat on the shoulder and a Brava that I wanted to share with my readers.

And now- foolish or not- I’m going to share the only two bad/critical reviews Star Bright has gotten. These two reviews are my motivators to do better, and they also remind me that I can’t please everyone.

Not everyone is going to love your story, some with genuine reason and others just because…

Authors should try and not take it personally because that’s how life is. You never know, some good may come out of these bad reviews. You just have to remember not to blow up at the readers.

Out of my bad review, another reader read it and she said she would read Star Bright because of the gracious way I responded to it and she liked the book.

So authors, before you respond to a bad review, take a deep breathe, count to ten, pull up a fake smile and write ‘thank you for taking the time to read and review my book. I’m sorry you did not enjoy it’ then you can curse the guy out, out loud!!

And readers you need to understand the difference between a critical helpful review and a spiteful hateful review. There is no need to bash an author because you think its fun. How would you like it if someone torn apart something you’ve worked so hard on with no constructive criticism?

So if you can’t write a constructive review, please don’t write anything!!

Constructive Critical Review

“I had decided to read this book after seeing it posted on one of the boards I frequent. I went to the

author’s website and read an excerpt first. From what I read, it sounded interesting and worth a read. However, after nine chapters, I just could not read it any longer. I was 100+ pages into the book but was not invested enough in the characters or the story to continue. There were several reasons why this book made it to my DNF (Did Not Finish) list. Here they are in no particular order:

1. It was evident that the book had not been professionally edited. There were instances where the wrong word was used, the grammar was incorrect, and there were many inconsistencies that I think an editor would’ve caught.

2. Advice that is often given to writers is to write what they know. It is evident that the author was writing about places she does not know, and she did not do her homework.

3. There are gaps and inconsistencies that made me feel confused. A few times I went back and reread passages just to make sure I didn’t miss anything. It was frustrating.

4. Finally, some things were just not believable. For instance, Michael is supposed to be four years old, but he is way too mature for his age.

While I appreciate that the author has a story to tell and I applaud her courage to put pen to paper, a good copy editor could’ve helped with many of these issues and the end result would have been a much more pleasurable read

Mean dude!

This book was very hard to get through, even though the plot concept was good. There were so many scenes that were just unbelievable for a book set in the present. For example, a woman, Maria, and her five year old son, are trying to get away from her abusive boyfriend. They move to New York City and meet a high profile lawyer, Dave. Maria meets Dave when he gets into an argument with his estranged wife in the restaurant where Maria works. Dave and his wife have such a heated exchange, that they leave their baby daughter ON the table in the restaurant and leave her there until Dave, who has custody, gets back to his office and realizes he doesn’t have the baby anymore. And this guy is a super lawyer and highly looked up to. Forgetting his child, doesn’t fit his character! Also, after Maria knows Dave for only two days, he goes to pick her son up from the day care without her permission, and the workers at the day care ask no questions and allow him to take the boy. The day care calls Maria only after the boy has already been taken from their care. This would never happen in New York City! There were other incidents that were equally as confusing. The wording of some of the sentences and the lack of editing of this book were very distracting too. And it kept going on and on! I don’t understand the 4 and 5 star ratings from the other reviewers.

If you have aything you would like to say about Star Bright, click on the link on the right Let’s talk!!

One thought on “Constructive and Bad Reviews

Leave a Reply

