An interview with Maria Martinez Greer, star of novel Star Bright

Tred paint backgroundoday on my blog I am joined by Maria Greer whose life story is told in the inspirational romance novel Star Bright by Christina OW. She talks about her life after the abuse she faced at the hands of her ex-boyfriend Ricky and the happiness she’s found with her husband Dave.

Star Bright is a wonderful book that keeps you at the edge of your seat with each page you turn. It’s quite staggering and disturbing that this story is based on someone’s life- Maria’s. What’s more frightening is that there are thousands of women out there in the world going through the same thing.

But we are here today on a more uplifting note, to discuss Maria’s journey from hell to her own kind of heaven. Without further delay, let the interview begin.

 

Host:   Maria, I’m glad you could join me today. Honestly, I’m quite surprised that you agreed to this interview.

Maria: Thanks for having me. To be quite honest with you, I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for        Dave. A year ago, I wouldn’t have agreed to this but… (She pushes her hair behind her ear) well, I’m sure you’ll ask me about that later on.

Host:  Yes. I would like to start from the beginning (Maria fidgets in her seat) How is your relationship with your father? Have you moved past feeling abandoned?

Maria: (A shadow of a smile on her lips) we’ve seen him twice these past few years, during the Christmas holidays. Christmas in Cancun is wonderful and seeing my mom makes it even better. (Dave coughs behind me and I notice a sudden change in Maria) Though I rarely see him we talk as much as we possibly can. We are taking it one day at a time. I’m new to the whole father-daughter relationship.

Host:   You mentioned Christmas in Mexico, does this mean Dave won the bet? (The heavy chuckle behind me made Maria glare, but it was evident she was suppressing a smile).

Maria: Let’s not inflate his ego further. Next question please.

Host:  (I laugh) Okay. How are Michael and precious Izzy?

Maria: (her smile beams happily) they are wonderful. Michael is our little genius. Dave thinks in a year or two they’d have to skip him a few grades to keep his interests focused on school. And Izzy is in preschool and loving every day of it.

Host:  That’s great to hear especially knowing what they’ve gone through. But what I’d really like to know is how their relationship is with Miguel?

Maria: He is a wonderful grandfather. The way they are around him, you’d think Miguel had been present since day one.

Host: And Dave, how does he feel about that relationship?

Maria: (she shakes her head) Ah ah. I know where you are going with this. I’m not discussing that. Enough was reveal in the book.

Host: Okay… hey! A journalist can hope. Back to you, how are things with your muy caliente lawyer?

Maria: (she blushes, fiddling with the rings on her left hand finger) I think you can take a guess. He is wonderful and nothing like… (She stiffens and visibly swallows) like Ricky.

Host:  I know he’s a tough subject to discuss but, would you tell us about your life with him, with Ricky? (Maria’s hands tremble on her lap. It’s shocking to see the effect Ricky still has on her. She then looks up and behind me and the trembling stops. It’s wonderful to see Dave’s effect on her)

Maria: In a word, it was hell. I wouldn’t wish it on any woman. Living in fear for so long (she rubs her arms, her eyes gaining a distant look) I lost myself… my self-esteem. I forgot how it felt to live without fear, who I was, what I loved, my hopes, my dreams. I was completely consumed with fear and I became a woman I didn’t recognize, and even now back to the woman I used to be before Ricky, I still don’t recognize her but I understand her. (She looks at me, straight in the eye with a hard gaze and it gives me chills) But that fear did something great too. The fear of losing my son finally jolted me into taking action. And now because of that one moment of fear, I have everything I’ve ever wanted and deserved.

Host: I’m so glad for you Maria. You look so happy… you are radiating! You deserve all the love and joy in your life. Your story is so heartbreaking and yet inspiring. It made me cry from both sadness and happiness. Your courage is to be admired and I hope someone will find strength from you story into taking action and living they life they deserve.

Maria: (She smiles, quickly wiping a stray tear from her cheek) thank you, I hope so too.

Host: So what now? Now that you’ve gotten your happily ever after, what’s next in Maria Greer’s inspiring life.

Maria: (she chuckles, a tint of pink spreading over her cheeks) Well, I’m currently studying psychology. I’d like to become a counselor for domestically abused women and children. I’d like to help in anyway I can, and as you said inspire them to live the life they deserve. And well… (The pink in her cheeks grows crimson. She looks up and smiles. I look behind and standing there with a huge goofy grin on his face is her hot lawyer husband Dave. He moves into the room, lifts Maria up. Taking her seat he settles her on his lap.)

Host:  Are you saying what I think you are saying? (Maria turns, hiding her face behind her gorgeous hair making Dave laugh. He moves his hand to her belly and she places hers over his.)

Dave: What do you think we are saying?

And like a good journalist I sat there, keeping my cool when all I wanted to do was jump up and down and shriek excitedly, and waited for him to say the words. I need the confirmation, right from the horse’s mouth per say. Drawing conclusions without proof is bad business for us.

But Dave just kept smiling at me- and I’m sure that’s what nabbed Maria, that dangerous sexy smile- not saying a word. I didn’t push, I didn’t nag and when he stood up tacking Maria into his side, I knew the man was a sadist at heart. Dave Greer led his wife out of my interview room with a quick ‘bye’ and creating a journalist’s worst nightmare when he said ‘take a wild guess’.

red paint background

Get Star Bright for $.99, you only have 3 days before it goes back to its orignal price of $2.99. Don’t miss out on this inspiring interracial romance suspense!

Leave a Reply

