Reader, you’re review is more than just a bunch of words put together to make a sentence….

Authors always have a hard time with critics. Some of them can be so merciless they tear you down and leave nothing but skin and bones of your once strong confidence. Other reviewers are just mean and others are vindictive, who want to feel better about themselves by destroying someone else. I read once on a book description where an author warns his readers not to read the reviews because a rival author had created numerous Amazon pages to just bash his books. I mean really? What exactly drives a person to that extent?

Another person went to the extent to make a video mocking the author and the book.

20-inspiring-quotes-from-william-zinssers-on-writing-well-15-638

I’m not saying there aren’t bad books out there, because many do exist, I’m just saying be cautious of the reviews you read.  I’ve learned to always read all the reviews including the one stars. Now, the one stars, if anyone else has noticed have a swaying decision of whether or not you’ll buy the book. If there is just one or two stars I read them to find out why they didn’t like the book. To make sure I don’t fall victim to someone’s vindictive campaign, I click on that reviewers handle and checkout his or her other reviews. If majority of their reviews are one star then I completely ignore them and follow the other reviewers opinion.

It’s sad how some authors can get bullied by reviewers especially by that one person out to get him or her and have no power to stop them and if they even try to voice the injustice they are ridiculed for not being able to take criticism.

Because of this, it usually makes my day and cancels out all the negativity when I get reviews like this one.

Row of columns (Italy, Vatican)Amazon Review by Dema H.

What a fantastic book!!

5-Amazing-heart-full-to-bursting-with-love-stars!!

This book took me on a great journey of love, hate, tears and laughter!
And even though I haven’t read the first book, it was not a problem because everything just flowed and was explained probably ..

<< Time out for me to fangirl a little >>

Reno… O.M.G!!!

Through out the whole book I was sighing every time he opened his mouth! (Except for a little period you’ll figure out when you read this amazing book!)

And then came:
Allan ..
Followed by:
Ruiz ..
And:
Mathew ..
Sheeeesh! Could you say HOT+Romantic guys overload!!!

But nothing could have prepared me for Tyler!! He’s my favorite guy in this book!! 😉

<< Fangirl rant over >>

This book had a story so captivating that I could put it down! When I checked the clock because I couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore, it was 5 A.M!! I kid you not!!!

The mix of Romance, Suspense, Action, and Humor was so well done that one minute I was crying

The next I was laughing out loud!

I loved the back stories… at times I was like:

I loved how both the H and h didn’t have an easy life but they both fought to be happy ..

I loved how strong welled and sure of what she wants Lori was .. Because I read lots of romance novels .. after a while the h taking what the H said at face value and interrupting it in a bad way that always ended with them taking offence, angry, taking off or fighting with the H gets old..not that I don’t love the drama but it was so refreshing to see that Lori had a good head on her shoulder and that she’s fighting for what she wants ..

There were a couple of times while reading this book that I expected her to storm out or slap Reno .. But she never cease to surprise/Amaze me!

And getting a glimpse of the other characters stories made me want to know more about them … and with Christina OW Amazing writing style I’ll be sure to pick up the other books in her series and whatever else she has out…

I didn’t want to include any part of the story in fear of revealing too much but let me say this … the blurb??!! Doesn’t even begin to cover it!

Finally, I recommend this book to all Romance-novels-lovers, the people who love the In-Love-With-Sister’s-Best-Friend theme and to anyone who’s interested in reading a great book …”

BhagU58IYAAmn0k.jpg large

I have a few reviews like this and I will confess I keep writing for readers like Dema H. It’s better to write for that one reader who enjoys and understands your work than many who don’t understand your writing and tear it down for their amusement.

Readers, your reviews are more than just a bunch of words put together to make up a sentence that join other sentences that express you’re opinion. Write your review but do it in a way that helps the author correct his or her mistake. Do not be an instrument of derision that stunts growth and kills an author’s love for writing.

Leave a Reply

