LESSON LEARNED – FINALLY WISED UP … By Maribeth Shanley

Indigo Sea Press Blog

IC Brand Logo w_A few months ago, a friend encouraged me to do an Internet search.  The results of that search saddened me for a spell.  After thinking about what I found, however, I determined that, as Jimmy Buffet wrote and sings, “It’s my own damned fault.”

Back in 2003 I founded a clothing brand for women who ride motorcycles called Iron Cowgirls.  (Been riding my own motorcycle for over 30 years.)  I was smart enough to trademark the name and its brand symbol; but, wasn’t smart enough to copy write the lifestyle poem that went with it. Later, I also failed to copy write the ‘Lil Iron Cowgirls lifestyle poem that went with the ‘Lil Iron Cowgirls brand I was creating when the market crashed in 2008.  I had to sell the brand. Everything went with it.

Looking back, I realize I never thought it necessary to copy write them because I believed I would…

View original post 945 more words

Leave a Reply

