Authors Tell All- Railyn Stone

indexrs Writing since she could pick up a pen, Railyn Stone hails from the Tar Heel State and is a romantic at heart. She believes you can find romance in the simplest aspects of life and enjoys letting her imagination run wild. Trying new restaurants, listening to music, playing golf and writing stories about ordinary people are the hobbies she cherishes most.

 

 

 

Tell+All+Icon

Publication…it’s possible

I get asked a lot of questions when people find out that I’m a published author. It’s usually the same ones:

What’s your process?

  • How long does it take you to write a book?
  • How did you find your publisher?

Believe me, I don’t mind the questions at all; because it wasn’t too long ago that I was on the other side asking those same questions to published authors. If I have any advice to impart on anyone that desires to be published, 1) ask questions, 2) keep writing and 3) never accept no as the final answer.

Asking questions is the best thing you could ever do. I asked questions in a couple of ways. I joined online writing groups, took a few creative writing courses and I started following blogs of authors I liked. I read their blogs and a lot of the questions I had would be answered that way. However, if I didn’t find the answers there, many times the authors would have a contact area on their website and I would submit questions to them. One thing I’ve always been told, if you never ask, you’ll never know. So continue to ask questions constantly. Also, if you have a local bookstore, check out their events. Many times they will host opportunities for you to see authors that visit. Authors will do signings and many times they will read part of their book and then open up the opportunity for guest to ask questions. This is a great chance for you to get more answers and insights concerning writing and the publishing process.

Keep writing. Whether you have an idea for a book or not, try and get into the habit of writing daily. Even if it’s just a blog post or a rant that will never be published or no one will ever read. It’s like exercising. If you want to build up your muscles, you take the time to work out each day. If you want to build your vocabulary and build your writing abilities, you have to exercise your writing skills.

And finally, and I feel like this is the most important thing I could ever tell anyone. Never take no as the final answer. I can’t even begin to tell you how many rejection letters and emails I received before I received an offer. It is disheartening, it’s sad and it’s a horrible feeling when you are rejected. We all go through it at some time or another in our lives, but know that you are not alone and where one may not want your work, someone else may. I know it’s easier said than done, but don’t take the rejections personally. I kept each of my rejections as badges of honor. Believe me, when I first received them, I didn’t want to read them. However, later I went back and read them again. And I noticed a running thread through them all. Each one would allude to the fact that my writing was great, but they just didn’t have a passion for the story. Honestly, that’s the kind of rejection you want because you want your publisher or your literary agent to be passionate about the story you want to tell. They will be your biggest supporters and will help you get your story to the world. They need to have a passion for it.

So, keep plugging away. Keep writing, keep reading and asking questions and don’t take no for an answer. There are various ways to get to publication and everyone has a different path to take.

Book links:

TheChristmasTreeGuy-1First Novel Published:

The Christmas Tree Guy, November 2014

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00NN5ZNC4

 

 

 

 

 

Most Recent Publication:ASecretToKeep

A Secret to Keep, June 2015

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00YSS7LIY

Visit me at:

Website: www.railynstone.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/railynst

Twitter: @railynwrites

Email: railynwrites@gmail.com

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/railyns

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Railyn-Stone/e/B00NR66YMW/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Click here to read other authors journeys.

Leave a Reply

