Authors Tell All- Ann Swan

indexAnn Ann Swann was born in the small West Texas town of Lamesa. She grew up much like Stevie-girl in The Phantom Pilot, though she never got up the nerve to enter the haunted house. Ann has done everything from answering 911 Emergency calls to teaching elementary school. She still lives in West Texas with her husband, Dude, one rescue dog, two rescue cats, and a part-time box turtle named Piggy.

Amazon Author page: http://tinyurl.com/6wl3oe2

 

 

 

Tell+All+Icon

I’ve been a writer for most of my life. My first published piece was in my college literary magazine. It was a short story called In Search of Water. I believe it paid $50 for first place. I won several more contests like that and those gave me the courage to keep writing. I also joined every writing group I could find in my area of West Texas. The other writers were always very encouraging.

However, I never broke into the “big leagues” or got a real agent. I had a couple of agents who never did anything for me so I wasn’t successful in that area. But it was at one of my writer’s meetings that I met my first editor (this was many years after I won that first contest). She and a friend were starting their own publishing company and I was one of their first signed authors. This small press published my first book The Phantom Pilot, and its follow-up, the Phantom Student. Unfortunately, they didn’t last very long as a company, so when my rights were returned to me, I self-published those two books and one more in the series–The Phantom of Crybaby Bridge.

I also publish Romantic Suspense novels through 5 Prince Books, a small press I found (once again) through a writer’s group, this time on Facebook.

So the best advice I could give any writer is to never stop writing and always keep networking with other authors. You never know when someone will be the contact you’ve been waiting for.

Stevie-girl and the phantom pilot(1)

Book One: Stevie-girl and the Phantom Pilot

No matter who dares you, no matter what lures you, do not go in the spooky old house . . .

 When a small planes crashes behind Jase’s rural home, strange things begin to happen. But no one believes him. After all, there’s no such thing as a ghost, right? Then he sees his pretty, quiet schoolmate, Stevie-girl, about to enter the legendary haunted house, and he knows if anyone can help him solve the mystery, she’s the one.

Crybaby-Bridge-Amazon copy 2

Click here to read other authors journeys.

Leave a Reply

