Authors Tell All- Melynda Price

Melynda PriceMelynda Price is the author of several contemporary and paranormal romance titles, including Win by Submission and Passing His Guard in the mixed martial arts–themed Against the Cage series. Price writes for ardent readers who want to fall in love over and over again. She makes the unbelievable believable while taking her characters to the limit with tales full of passion, heart, and unexpected twists. Salting stories with undertones of history whenever possible, Price adds immeasurable depth to her well-crafted books. She lives with her husband and two children in northern Minnesota, where there are plenty of snow-filled days to curl up in front of the fireplace with a hot cup of coffee and write.

Tell+All+Icon

Thank you for inviting me to your author tell-all. Today, I’m celebrating the release of Passing His Guard, the second book in my Against the Cage series. It’s been a journey to get here and the road is far from over.

I began writing six years ago when a friend asked me to edit a book she’d been working on. I had a strong background in English and thought, why not give it a shot? But instead of editing it, I ended up rewriting it, and I learned two very important things about myself: a.) I have absolutely no editorial skill. And b.) I love to tell stories. That’s how I discovered my love for writing and it’s been a rollercoaster ride of highs and lows ever since.

The first book I wrote, Until Darkness Comes, was a paranormal romance that evolved into a 4-book series. It was published in 2012 by 5Prince Publishing.

I loved the paranormal world and begin writing another series with the hope/intention to sign with a literary agent and sell the story to a mass market publisher. Though Bonded in Exile was submitted to several agencies, the common response I received was, “Great writing and great story but paranormal isn’t selling.”

I asked the agent what was selling, and she said small-town contemporary romance. That’s when I realized it didn’t matter how good of a writer I was, or how great my story happened to be, I had to write what was selling. So I decided to jump genres and enter the contemporary world. It wasn’t easy. A + B now had to = C, and writing within the confines of realism was a new and challenging task.

mp2

Question: How would I make real life interesting enough that people would want to read it?

Answer: One injured, rancorous MMA fighter and a sexy physical therapist with a damaged past and a psychotic ex-boyfriend that may just kill them both.

I wrote Win By Submission, a steamy MMA romantic suspense, and submitted the MS to a few literary agents. A couple of weeks later, I was contacted by an agent who loved the story. I signed with Spencerhill Associates and my agent, Nalini Akolekar, then sold Win By Submission and Passing His Guard to Montlake Romance.

The third book in this series, Grappling For Position, will be out in April 2016, and I have another romantic suspense releasing next fall.

So what started out as a goodwill gesture to help out a friend has turned into a life changing event for me. It hasn’t been easy, but the road to success rarely is.

I thank you for taking the time to read my tell-all and I hope you’ll check out my newest release, Passing His Guard.

Have a wonderful day!

mp1Click here to read other authors journeys.

One thought on “Authors Tell All- Melynda Price

Leave a Reply

