Authors Tell All- Lisa Warir

me without glassesI am a new published author. I’ve been writing for fifteen plus years, mostly fan fiction online and had a small following with my Michael Jackson stories (though I’ve written about other musical celebs as well) I published my first novella Destinee romance novella this year in January and have learned a lot along the way.
It takes a lot of courage to share your work with people, it’s a little easier online because people don’t know you, but once I published a paperback version of my book I started sharing it with family, friends, coworkers etc and gained a lot of feedback and encouragement to do more. Even though I have been writing for years, I can’t say it was a dream of mine per se, just something to wile away the time and daydream. (when I was younger I was more of an artist than a writer)  I was also an avid reader, there was a time in my life when I used to read like 2 novels a week, but you’re looking at a time before the internet as we know it today and cable TV.
Tell+All+Icon
What I have learned aside from the challenges of self publishing-formatting, relying on someone else to do your cover art, the costs, ways to promote and market etc
new book markkI’ve learned how to do book trailers (basic, not fancy)
I did my first Youtube video this year (book related)
I plan to do a book signing, when and where remains to be seen
It’s been a journey. I’ve had ups and downs, aggravations etc but I press on because I feel that this is my time.
My published books
Destinee romance novella
Two become one: A Destinee romance sequel
Currently working on 3rd installment of Destinee series Jewel, What your mama didn’t tell you
 Final final proof for sequel

Click here to read other authors journeys.

Leave a Reply

